Family

Second Trimester: Weeks 14-19

Hello!

I’ve been feeling great in the second trimester, and today I’m sharing all about weeks 14-19 of this pregnancy. You can read about my first trimester here and here.

I’ve got my energy back, and I’m feeling wordy in this recap, so buckle in and get ready for a long read. 🙂

Week 14- October 10

  • Baby is the size of a lemon.
  • I can’t believe I’m in the second trimester. Holy cow!
  • My belly button is starting to pop out and it freaks Travis out. 🙂 I’ve always had an “inny” so this is strange!
  • I announced the baby news to my coworkers. They were all excited, and we sent a 6th grade team picture with the caption “Guess who’s expecting” to the rest of my coworkers.IMG_0569.JPG
  • We announced on social media this week too. It was so fun to see all the comments, love, and support from friends/family.
  • My stomach has felt a little off several times this week- just random quick bouts of nausea. I’m wondering if it’s related to something I’ve eaten since I’ve felt so good for the whole first trimester.
  • I read that the baby can now squint, frown, grimace, and pee. That blows my mind!
  • I’m starting to not be as tired all the time (Hallelujah!).
  • A couple times, I’ve felt a “bulge” of sorts on my left side. Is that the baby or am I just losing my mind?
  • I started our Amazon Registry, and I’m hooked. 🙂 When I have freetime on the weekends, you better believe I’m researching baby products and adding things to the registry.

 

Week 15- October 17

  • Baby is the size of an apple.
  • I’m definitely not as tired this week. It’s like a fog has lifted.
  • The only things I’m “craving” are tomato- things, especially ketchup (which I’ve never been a huge fan of before so this is new). I even ate a plain spoonful of ketchup one day because it sounded so good.
  • I announced to my students this week with a puzzle, and they are SO excited. I didn’t expect them to be this into it!
  • I’ve had several students tell me they can see the bump, but I’m still not really seeing anything.
  • Travis told me my bump looks more like a beer gut- ha!
  • I bought my diaper bag this week. It was about $100 off, and I couldn’t resist the good deal. 🙂
  • My stomach feels way better this week, so I’m thinking last week was a fluke.
  • We went to Topeka to see my brother-in-law Trae and I bought some new clothes that have a little room to grow. I’m trying to buy more “basic” pieces that I can layer with a lot of things.
  • I’m definitely feeling just ready to have a bump. This awkward, in-between phase is frustrating!
  • Travis thinks you can tell I’m pregnant, but mainly from a bare belly view. When I lay down or move back, my stomach comes to a point; it looks so weird!
  • Baby Snyder got his/her first gift: a set of Disney books from my friend Jessica. 🙂IMG_0575

 

Week 16- October 24

IMG_0591 (1).JPG

  • Baby is the size of an avocado.
  • I haven’t slept great this week. Sleeping on my side gets old and stomach sleeping (which is how I usually sleep) is getting uncomfortable.
  • Burgers/red meat is a new craving. It always sounds good. I got a good burger in Week 15 when we went to Topeka, and I legitimately had a dream about that burger.
  • We had our 16-week appointment with our main nurse and she had a student nurse with her, training. It took the student nurse awhile to locate the baby for a heartbeat, which freaked us both out! They explained that the baby is so active, which is good, and the heartbeat was a strong 150 bpm. I had questions about me not gaining any weight and not really showing yet, and they reassured me that it’s normal. I also got a flu shot during this visit, per my doctor’s suggestion.
  • I had a strange dream that the baby is a girl, and that eating an apple helped her heart rate rise when I was in a stressful labor..??
  • Aaron, Renee, and their daughter Nora, stopped by to watch the K-State game and stayed through the afternoon and evening. Renee is 5 weeks behind me so we got to compare bellies, symptoms, etc. 🙂 Nora is about 2 1/2 years old, and we realized that we have a ways to go in terms of kid proofing our house. We were exhausted when they left!

 

Week 17- October 31

IMG_0597

  • Baby is the size of a turnip.
  • Travis had a vivid dream just a few days after mine that beanie is a girl and we named her Mary Lou- ha! That is about the furthest name from the girl name we have picked out.
  • I have felt so good that I have to remind myself that I’ve really pregnant!
  • My belly button is definitely popping and has moved off-center…just when I thought it couldn’t get more strange!
  • I still have moments where my belly looks small and I question it. Travis tells me I just look for something to worry about, but this isn’t how I pictured looking or feeling at this time in pregnancy (not complaining!).
  • My students now say they can notice my bump on the reg.
  • I had a craving for canned beets, which I had never bought before. They hit the spot though!

 

Week 18- November 7

  • Baby is the size of a bell pepper.
  • I still feel so good (praise the Lord!).
  • We had a tailgate with friends, and they let me “sniff” the alcohol as they took shots- ha. 🙂
  • I had a dream about it being a girl and then it being a boy in the same night, so who knows?! I’m still on the boy train (It’s just my gut feeling), so Travis is saying girl just because I’m usually wrong on my guesses for other people.
  • I’ve become more hungry and snacky lately.
  • I’m sleeping a lot better (another praise the Lord!!).
  • I definitely have very vivid dreams regularly, almost every night.
  • Travis asked me when babies open their eyes this week…umm what?! I told him that babies aren’t like kittens. They open their eyes the day they’re born. I think he needs to read one of the many baby books I’ve been reading- ha.

 

Week 19- November 14

IMG_0639

  • Baby is the size of an heirloom tomato (I’m still digging all things tomato-y so that sounds so good! 🙂 ).
  • Our anniversary was the first day of this week- 3 years! We went to Kansas City and registered at Buy Buy Baby (WOW- stimulation overload!), looked at a stroller/carseat at Dillards, shopped, and registered at Target. The Target by Legends had the most slim, overpicked, and downright dirty baby section that I’ve ever seen. It definitely wasn’t the best registering experience there. We were both pooped by the time we got home.
  • I smelled/saw sushi and ahi tuna at the restaurant we ate lunch at on our anniversary. It made me miss it so much more than ever. That will be our first meal out once baby gets here!
  • I definitely feel like the bump is more permanent and noticeable this week- finally!
  • My belly button feels like it’s  3/4 out and is poppin’!
  • We had dinner after a K-State game with friends at Little Grill and ran into my parents there. They all said they thought my bump was so little. Womp, womp. Just when I thought it was actually noticeable- haha.
  • We’re in shock that we get to find out the gender next week. Time is flying by so quickly!

 

I commend you if you got through all that. My thoughts are still very random and all over the place. 🙂 Stay tuned for the reveal if baby Snyder is a boy or girl!

Have an amazing day! 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment