Friday

Five on Friday

Brr, I think the cold is here to stay! While I act annoyed about it, I actually kind of love the cold. (I think it’s because I always have an excuse to be curled up with a blanket on the couch 🙂 ).

Here are five highlights from the week!

one. Who knew that I’d find a new love this week?

Staining furniture.

I’m surprised I love it, but I do!

I have been wanting to redo my college furniture set for awhile now, and after having guests stay at our house more often this fall, I’ve finally been motivated to get to work.

We started with the dresser on Sunday. While stripping the old stain off makes me want to cry and drown my sorrows in wine, staining is like a job from heaven.

IMG_4611.JPG
The dresser, stripped and ready to be stained.

In the past, Travis has stripped some of our furniture and re-stained it, but I always assumed it was hard and that I would mess it up so I steered clear.

However, after I tried it this week, I realized that something about staining is so relaxing to me. It’s like painting’s laid back and fun relative. We had a system going with this. Every night after work, I would do a coat of stain and Travis would come around and do the wiping/buffing after it had sat a little.

Good thing I like it because we’ve got a bed frame and large vanity/desk yet to do!

two. My coworker, Erin, is pregnant, and she wanted to do a picture announcement to send to all of the middle school staff members. (We’re kind of isolated down in sixth grade hall, and it can be weeks before we see teachers in other halls).

A couple years ago, when my coworker, Katie, was expecting, we did a picture line up and sent an email saying, “Guess who is pregnant.”

Erin (on the far left) wanted to do something similar. We threw in a couple outliers (Adam and Jill) just for fun. 🙂

Congrats, Erin!

image1.jpeg

three. In my language arts classes, we started our “Tuck Everlasting” novel unit this week. I always feel like the first unit of the year (grammar and short stories) goes forever, and it’s a breath of fresh air to start a book with the kids.

We talked about the idea of eternal life and if it would be a good thing or a bad thing to live forever. The kids’ answers made me laugh, and they seem intrigued by the book. Let’s hope that holds through and they learn to settle down (I mean, we’re only into the 11th week of school..sigh.).

four. Travis’s Durango has been in the shop for past couple of weeks, and he has been using one of his company’s cars while he waits for his to be fixed. On Wednesday night, the company car was being used so he had to get a ride home. Then, I had to drop him at the gas station the next morning while he waited for a coworker to take him to work (He felt so classy about that- not!). I joked with him that he just wanted a little extra time with me in the morning. Ha!

But seriously, having one car is no joke. It’s tough, and I know he’s more than ready to have his own vehicle back. Let’s hope that thing doesn’t have any more issues for a long time.

five. Thursday, after school, I had to have a moment. It was one of those days where I just wanted to yell at every every kid because “How hard is it to just sit down and be quiet?!” I got done teaching 7th hour (my last hour of the day and also the hour that makes me drink), and I just sat until the 3:45 p.m. bell.

IMG_4613.JPG

I had plenty of stuff I should have been doing, but I needed some calmness after the craziness of the day.

How is it that teaching makes me feel so bipolar? One day I feel like I’m on top of the world and the next, I wonder why anyone would pick this profession. It’s humbling, that’s for sure.

Hope your weekend is full of calm moments! 🙂 Have a good day!

Question of the Day: What is one thing you enjoy about your job?

 

Leave a comment