Weekend

Weekend Recap

Hello again, Monday! This Monday is looking a little brighter since my mom is here to goof off! I’m ready for a fun day!

Here’s a recap of our weekend!

Friday night, we had our last regular season softball game. We ended up hanging out at one of the players’ houses before the game (Ok to pregame; let’s be real 😉 ). I finally found those White Claw Seltzer drinks and tried the black cherry flavor. They still aren’t amazing, but they grew on me the more that I drank them! The raspberry flavor was the one that I really wanted to try, but the liquor store we went to was sold out of them. I still want to try that flavor and thennnn I’ll make my final judgment call on them!

For softball, we were supposed to play the number one ranked team in our league. All the other teams in the league had played earlier in the week so our game was the only one held that night. It was too quietalmost eerie. We pumped up the music in the dugout, which helped!

Travis and I both play in the field, and I always try to have a conversation with him in the outfield, which he is never feeling (Something about him being into the game or whatever?! 🙂 ). The game was neck and neck the whole time (Stressful!) and we won by just one run thanks to a hit by Travis, which allowed Kevin to run home!

After our game, we went back to Kevin’s house to keep the winning celebration going! We ordered pizzas and played a few drinking games that I hadn’t played since college (I’m looking at you, P&A). I taught the team one of my favorites games, “Tourettes,” which never fails to make people laugh (and feel incredibly dumb when we can’t think of words- the worst!!).

On Saturday, Travis was determined to get our shed relocated and put back together, mainly so that we could get all of the shed stuff out of our garage. It drove us both crazy having a cluttered garage the last couple of weeks!

img_2104.jpg
The new shed area. Getting ready to set the foundation.

He worked outside all day on it while I did laundry, ran errands, baked…and did some online shopping. 🙂 I did help him near the end by handing him screws to secure everything in place. (He said that I was helpful, but I think he was just appreciative for the company!).

IMG_4264.JPG

I am loving the new home for our shed!

Travis did so much work cutting a few trees and clearing old branches to tuck it back into the tree area of our yard. If it wasn’t so buggy back there, I told Travis that I would have wanted it to be my “she shed” to write and hang out in. 🙂

We were both so tired of the heat when it was finished, and I threw together a new lasagna recipe, which turned out so well: Beef Taco Lasagna!

I usually win out on picking the movies that we watch, so I told Travis he had total control on what we watched that night (and I would keep my mouth shut about it!).

He picked “Mad Max,” which is a movie without any real character development or plot (How do I really feel about it, right? 🙂 ). It was okay, but not my preferred type with all of the fighting scenes. The lines for that movie must have been so easy to memorize too; there was hardly any talking! (Fight, fight, fight, yell something, fight, fight).

On Sunday, we got groceries and Travis did a little more cleaning on the garage and our vehicles while I finished laundry and read another Susan Mallery book. Emily- great recommendation! I can’t get enough of her books!

We lounged around in the afternoon because our playoff game was scheduled for 8 p.m.

Travis had wanted to go explore the new Academy store, and after we got home from there, I had to scramble to make dinner. I tried Skinnytaste’s Kale Caesar and Grilled Chicken Bowls and made some sweet potato noodles to go on the side (Because I’m usually not a big kale fan at all. I know it’s healthy, but it’s so bitter- bleh. The noodles were a backup side dish. 🙂 )

The recipe included a homemade caesar dressing with anchovies in it, my first experience with them! They really made the dressing delicious though! (By themselves, I’m still not sold though.) Even the kale was tasty. The key was letting it sit in the dressing for a while to soften it.

IMG_4267.JPG

On our way over to the game, we got a call from Zach, the captain, who said the other team had forfeited. We decided to go ahead and meet them at the field still though to hang out a little.

And…we ended up at Dairy Queen (It was National Ice Cream Day yesterday, after all!). It didn’t take much to convince our team to partake! 🙂

I did some cleaning when we got home so our house is all ready for a visit from my mom!

Have a great day!

Question of the Day: What is your take on action movies? Take them or leave them?

Leave a Reply

