Recipes

Softest Chocolate Chip Cookies

How about some chocolate chip cookies to perk up your Tuesday? 🙂

To Travis, homemade chocolate chip cookies are the supreme. You’d think I just bought him a boat or something with how excited he gets when I bake them.

I always love trying new recipes for chocolate chip cookies (No surprise there!) and when I came across this one from the House of Smiths blog, I hit gold.

If you can ignore the ungodly amount of butter this recipe calls for, and just roll with it, you will not be sorry.

The beautiful thing about this recipe also is that it is such a perfect base for any type of cookie add-in. It’s a rich, buttery base that can also become macadamia nut cookies or raisin nut cookies,… or double chocolate cookies (!), etc. (In the link above, you can see different add-ins that House of Smiths has done.)

I try to always have a batch of these in the freezer so that we can pop one in the microwave when a craving hits (err…or after dinner every night 😉 ).

The only chocolate chip cookie recipes that I use now are this one and another that I found online (which I will share later!). They’re outta this world (Ok- too cheesy, but they really are incredible!).

*Below is the full recipe. I always half the recipe, which still makes about 20 large cookies, because Travis and I need some kind of control when these are around. 😉

*I also like to mix chocolate chips and white chips together for this recipe (as shown in picture below). It’s the perfect balance of both flavors.

Enjoy!

IMG_3663.JPG

Softest Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes: 32-36 LARGE cookies

Ingredients

  • 4 sticks butter- partially  melted
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 4 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 6 cups flour + 2 Tbsp.
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2-2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Combine the partially melted butter, both sugars, and vanilla in a mixing bowl. Give it a slow spin to cool the butter down and barely incorporate everything. Then, add the eggs and mix just until combined. Do not over mix.
  2. In a separate, larger bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Use a whisk to work everything together.
  3. While the mixer is off, add half of the dry mixture to the wet mixture and slightly combine. (You should still see unmixed flour.)
  4. Add the rest of the dry mixture on low speed to barely incorporate. Knead everything together until you can no longer see the dry flour.
  5. Add 1 1/2-2 cups chocolate chips. Roll into large balls and do NOT pat down.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes, taking care not to overbake.
  7. Remove cookies from oven and let cool on pan for 15-20 minutes. (I know this seems like eternity, but I’m convinced that it is the secret trick to making them so delicious! Just trust me!)

Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite cookie recipe that you make time and time again?

My mom has several cookie recipes that are to die for, but they just don’t turn out the same when I make them. Hence, why I keep trying so many new ones. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

