Weekend

Weekend Recap

Hello, Monday! Hope your weekend was a great one!

On Friday evening, we had a softball game so some of the girls on our team (AKA the teachers 🙂 ) met up at Old Chicago for drinks and appetizers beforehand. I’m still on my Moscow Mule kick so I tried a berry mule and a regular mule. It sure is nice to be on summer time and able to go get drinks at 4 p.m. 🙂

After we finished our drinks, we headed to the parking lot of the fields to hang with the guys and drink a little more before our game at 7 p.m. I think a few drinks help me play better. 😉

IMG_4256.JPG
Taylor, Jess, Emily, and I

We went into this game knowing that we would be playing the worst team in our league (That took some pressure off!). Needless to say, we run ruled them by the fifth inning, which cut our game short. We were happy for the win, and we wanted to keep the party going, preferably finding a pool to cool off in.

The girls and I had been talking about the new alcoholic seltzer water drinks and wanted to try them so we ran to The Fridge, but they didn’t have the brand we really wanted, White Claw. We ended up trying the Press brand and Smirnoff brand of them, but I still want to get my hands on some White Claw ones. We were not impressed with the ones we tried and they tasted dirty, if that makes sense (so much so that Emily had to chase the Smirnoff one down with another drink. It was naaaasty!).

We ended up going to the UC pool with most of our team, just talking and drinking. The brave ones swam; while the water was warm, that was the dirtiest pool I’ve been in. It was full of grim and regret- ha! After a few hours, the group filtered down to our usuals, Zach, Emily, Coleman, Jessica, Travis, and I.

IMG_4251.JPG

The bathroom situation was nonexistent so I’ll just say this: we got creative. End of story. 😉

We floated and talked a few more hours, even making some friends, an interesting group of guys who kept wanting us to request music for them to play. (?)

I was eventually the weenie who was too cold and couldn’t take it anymore. As soon as I got out, Emily followed, and the rest of the group shortly thereafter. Once Emily  mentioned getting Taco Bell as a late night snack, the boys moved a little quicker to get out. 😉

On Saturday, we were very low-key, which for me translates to: I read a LOT. 🙂 I met Jessica in the afternoon at Marshall’s to shop (Of all things, we each only bought dry shampoo). We also went to Pier One, where Jess realized a little too late that she locked her keys in her car. She had left her windows cracked a smidge, so we found some strong sticks and tried to poke them down to unlock the doors.

Eventually, all of our sticks were breaking and it didn’t look like we would get it so we admitted defeat. I drove Jess back to her mom’s house, who has a spare key but was in Topeka at the time.

IMG_4254.JPG

Travis and I watched a movie later and then called it a night.

On Sunday, we were determined to make it to church. We have been gone so much this summer that it has been awhile since we’ve made it. After church we got groceries and then Travis was back at it with painting the house. He is on the last side of the house and so close to being done! Woohoo! It was ungodly hot so I was only outside long enough to take him cold drinks…and then I booked it back inside. 🙂

I got some cleaning done in the afternoon and we got a walk in that night…once it had cooled down!

I’ve been putting off doing some school prep so today I’m hoping to knock a little of it out. (I’m also hoping that writing it here makes me more accountable so that I actually do it. It’s been on my to-do list for…well…two months. 😉 )

Have a wonderful Monday! Stay cool! This week looks like it’s going to be a scorcher!

Question of the Day: Has anyone tried to White Claw seltzer drinks? Are they worth it?

Leave a Reply

