Recipes

PB & J Overnight Oats

If you’re anything like me, I love to sleep, and especially during the school year, I only give myself about five minutes to eat breakfast before I have to scramble to finish getting ready. (The snooze button and myself are a little too good of friends.)

I wish I gave myself enough time to get up and make scrambled eggs or pancakes, but most mornings, I only have enough time to grab the cereal and pour (occasionally I’ll make oatmeal, but that’s rare). Even in the summer, I find myself not wanting to cook an actual breakfast since I already cook lunch and dinner. I don’t want to spend myΒ whole day in the kitchen.

I’ve tried several recipes for overnight oats, and I was never very impressed until I found this one from Skinnytaste (go figure!)

I love the convenience of overnight oats, and I love knowing that they are a bit better for me than my bowl of cereal (plus these include a big serving of peanut butter, so that’s always a plus!)

If you need a quick, delicious, healthy breakfast, you have to try this recipe. The prep work the night before is well worth it!

PB & J Overnight Oats

Serves: 1

Calories: 288

Oats

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup red seedless grapes, halved*
  • 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tsp. sugar

Toppings

  • 1 Tbsp. peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp. jelly

 

For the oats: In an 8-ounce jar, combine the milk, oats, grapes, chia seeds, and sugar. Close the jar with the lid, shake the mixture, and refrigerate overnight.

For the toppings: The next day, take the jar out of the refrigerator, stir in the peanut butter and jelly, and serve.

*If you do not have grapes, I have found many other substitutions that are just as tasty. I have tried: diced apples, blueberries, diced strawberries, and even raisins. You can’t mess this recipe up!

 

Step one: Combine oat ingredients.

IMG_4090

Step two: The next morning, add peanut butter and jelly.

IMG_4091

Enjoy!

IMG_4094.JPG

Question of the Day:Β What is your go-to quick breakfast?

 

 

Leave a Reply

