Coastal · House

House Tour- Upstairs Guest Bathroom

Last week, my mom and I got our upstairs guest bathroom painted. I was honestly dreading it because the bathroom has full beadboard paneling, and I knew it would all need to be hand-brushed.

The paneling is very rough in some places too so we weren’t sure how easily it would be to brush the paint on.

After a couple years of looking at this dingy yellowish/tan color, I was beyond ready for a change though.

The before:

DSC01995.jpg

DSC01996.jpg

Thankfully, we sped through the painting, and it took no time at all (Leaving us plenty of time to goof off, shop, and drink mojitos πŸ™‚ ).

I chose the color Sea Salt by Sherwin Williams, and because we have terrible lighting in this bathroom, it came out a little different than I expected. It looks very baby-bluish, and I thought it would be more of a light seafoam green. It’s cute, but doesn’t blend as well with my accent decor as I thought.

My mom offered to repaint it if I wanted, but I told her I would learn to love it. I was not up for redoing it :). It is growing on me now…after some time, and I still think that color would be perfect in other rooms with more natural light (I’m not giving up on you, Sea Salt!).

The after:

DSC02028.jpg

DSC02012.JPG

DSC02019.jpg

Sorry for the glare. I have one my favorite quotes by Emerson framed. I was so excited to find a buoy in Maine that matched the color of it perfectly!

DSC02030.jpg

DSC02027.JPG

I think my last project with this room will be to paint the frame around the mirror white to make it look a little more crisp and clean!

Sources

Paint- Sherwin Williams Sea Salt

Shower curtain- Target

Bath mat- Bed, Bath, & Beyond

Crab picture- Tuesday Morning

White frame- Ikea

Quote art- Etsy

Buoy-Β Bar Harbor, Maine

Blue frame and candle holders- Marshalls and/or gifts

 

Enjoy your day! πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

