Weekend

Weekend Recap!

Good morning! I just realized that Friday’s blog was my 40th post here! I’m loving this new little hobby of mine!

That being said, I forgot to take any pictures of this busy weekend! Dang it!

On Friday night, we grabbed dinner and drinks with some friends from our softball team.

We got right in at Coco Bolos, one of my favorite spots! I ordered another mojito, and I feel like I need to get the recipe from them. Theirs are always on point!

One of the guys on the team is Travis’ coworker and his wife is also a teacher so we have lots of stories to swap. One of those being, our hatred of spinner toys. The husband, Zach, had a spinner that his nephew left with him, and he let Travis try it at work. Travis said he’s calling BS on my students who say it helps them focus as he didn’t get much done when he was “playing” with it. (If only we could tell our students’ parents that!!) Emily, Jessica, and I all agreed that we hope that trend has passed come August time!

On Saturday, Travis headed to a bachelor party for his friend, Paul. Travis is one of the best men so he was in charge of planning most of it and picking up the keg. They were going to go a shooting range and then fish/camp and just hang out.

I ran some errands, including picking up wedding gifts for our two weddings to attend in July. Paul and Carly’s wedding is next weekend- yay!

On Saturday night, my co-worker friend Erin came over for a wine night. We are both fans of shows on Netflix with an element of mystery like, “Making a Murderer” and “The Keepers” so we decided to try “The OA”, which was a recommendation I got from my friend Nicole.

We watched two episodes, and I don’t really know what to think about the show yet.

It is soΒ odd, but we’re curious enough to want to know what happens next in the story. It doesn’t take much for me to get hooked on a show though.

Sunday morning, I drove to Topeka to meet up with my parents, my Grandpa and Carlita, and an aunt and uncle for lunch. We went to Texas Roadhouse, and I think everyone had the same idea as us. I swear, that place isΒ always packed.

After a quick lunch and some “Happy Father’s Day” wishes to my dad and grandpa, I got back to Manhattan just in time to take a quick nap before our softball game at 6 p.m.

For this week’s softball game, we played the Manhattan Special Olympics team. The rules were a little different for playing this team, and it was fun to have such a positive, light-hearted game as we cheered their team on even more than our own. πŸ™‚

This game was earlier than our usual games so after it ended we decided to head to another field to get more practice in. We ended up having each person on our team bat through a bucket of balls and the rest of the team members were in the field practicing defense. Our practice was longer than our actual game! #WeAreDedicated πŸ™‚

This week will be a short one as I leave Thursday for our girl’s trip to Tennessee.

Have a wonderful Monday!

Question of the Day: What are your favorite tv shows to watch?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

