Weekend

Weekend Recap- Birthday Edition!

Happy Memorial Day! Hope you’re enjoying the long weekend. We are hoping to spend most of the day doing house work (scraping, painting, etc.). It’s not the most fun work, but we both really want it done! (I might help or I might just keep Travis company while drinking some wine…time will tell. 😉 )

On Friday, I spent most of my day researching the specific things we want to do and places we want to eat during our upcoming trip to Maine! I am a major planner and like to have our days planned out; not to mention the fact that I need to make sure we hit all of the best restaurants there!

A few hours of looking at pictures of delectable lobster rolls made me ravenous so I tried a new (Skinnytaste 🙂 ) recipe for chocolate swirled banana bread…in the crockpot. I had never heard of making a bread in a slow cooker so I was intrigued! It turned out very well though (Sorry, forgot to take a picture!).

Travis got home early from work so he got right back to scraping and painting another side of the house. I came out to talk to him, and I saw that he had developed quite an efficient method to get the painting done quickly! 😉

IMG_1401.JPG

On Saturday, it was back to painting for Travis, and house cleaning for me. With the craziness that the end of a school year brings, I had really neglected keeping our house spiffy. I spent a lot of the day dusting, sweeping, organizing, etc.

Is there any better feeling than a very clean house (even if it feels like it won’t stay that way for long 🙂 ) ?!

FullSizeRender

Sunday was my 25th birthday. I had a leisurely morning, finished up some cleaning, and got myself ready while Travis (c’mon, you can guess it…) painted!

I’m considering it a birthday win that he is repainting our house all by himself. He’s almost halfway done now!

IMG_3948

For my birthday lunch, my choice was good ole Jimmy Johns. I don’t know what makes Jimmy Johns sandwiches so amazing (probably just the fact that someone else made it for me). 🙂

That afternoon, my parents came down to help us celebrate. We talked, unwrapped presents (new luggage for our upcoming trip, among some other things!), and then went to Coco Bolos for dinner and drinks (mojitos for me!).

After my mom took the picture below, we died laughing. Travis’ smile looks so forced and miserable. I promise that he was really having a good time- ha!

IMG_3963

After dinner, we headed back to our house for birthday cake. Of course, it was carrot cake too, my favorite!

Do you see the crazed look in my eyes? I was ready for that carrot cake!

IMG_3964

Overall, it was a great birthday, and I felt incredibly blessed by all of the messages and texts from friends and family!

Here’s to hoping year 25 is the best one yet!

Have a good day!

Question of the Day: What are you doing to celebrate Memorial Day?

Leave a Reply

