Friday

Five on Friday

Travis and I like to joke that when I am on summer mode, I have no clue what day it is.

While I’ve only had a few days of summer break so far, I can already attest for this again, as I couldn’t keep straight if it was Tuesday, or Thursday, or Friday! I love summer mode. 😉

Here are some happenings from this week.

one. Another week, another meatless dish. (No, I’m not trying to go vegetarian, but I really look forward to having a meatless meal once a week!)

This week I tried Skinnytaste’s Creamy Carrot Farrotto. It is a twist on risotto dishes, but it uses farro instead, which is an ancient grain that is a little chewy and nutty.

You make a carrot puree to mix in with the farro and a salad to garnish on top.

Oh. My. Goodness.

This dish was amazing. Even my meat-loving husband had a rave review of it!

The combination of the cheesy, creamy farrotto with the tart “bite” of the arugula salad was perfection and felt so fancy. Delicious!

farrotto

The recipes from the Skinnytaste cookbooks are not usually posted online, but I did a little searching and found it posted on a blog here if you want to try it!

two. I finally decided on the art to go in my upstairs guest bedroom.

I picked option “B” and think it will add just the pop of color that the room needs.

Screen shot 2017-05-07 at 10.05.57 PM
The winner: “B!”

I ordered the print download from Etsy, but I decided to have it printed on a large canvas instead of regular paper.

I ordered a 24×36 canvas, which normally runs around $175. Yikes. I wasn’t going to pay that.

Lucky for me, Canvas People, where I ordered from, is having a huge sale for all of May! With the discount code “MOM499SHIP” I was able to get my canvas for $57 total. Not bad, when you consider the size alone!

If you’re in the market for a canvas, take advantage of this huge sale for the next couple of days!

three. Earlier this week, I finished the book “Go Set a Watchman” by Harper Lee. It is the “sequel” to her famous novel, “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

I had been wanting to read this book for awhile, but I had been putting it off because I heard it was going to be heavy and sad, according to reviews.

I actually really enjoyed it, more than I thought I would. While it lacked a well-structured plot, it had some good quotes that stuck with me.

One that I especially could relate with was the following:

I don’t know if I can tell you honey. When you live in New York, you often have the feeling that New York’s not the world. I mean this: every time I come home, I feel like I’m coming back to the world, and when I leave Maycomb it’s like leaving the world. It’s silly. I can’t explain it, and what makes it sillier is that I’d go stark raving living in Maycomb.”

Growing up in a small, tight-knit community, this quote really resonated with me. There is no feeling like that of coming “home.” Even when you live somewhere else, it always feels like home and everything just seems to make sense there.

four. Yesterday, I posted about how Travis and I really met. It’s a story full of references to Facebook and Walmart. Intrigued?! Check is out here.

fb convo 1

five. I saw this video earlier in the week on Facebook, and it cracked me up! I would definitely be as terrified (if not more) than the victims in the video, but it makes for a good laugh. 🙂

Question of the Day: If you could only eat one dessert for the rest of your life, what would it be?

My birthday is this weekend, and I’m hoping there is LOTS of carrot cake in my future. 🙂

Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Five on Friday

Leave a Reply

