Weekend

Weekend Recap- Funny Quotes Edition

Hello, Monday!

We had a busy, fun-filled weekend with family! Get ready for a lot of pictures!

Travis and I both hurried home after work on Friday to pack and head to our hometowns. Travis’ older brother, who lives in Wisconsin, was home for his little brother’s graduation so I dropped him off at his parents’ house so they could have a “bro night.”

When I got to my parents’ house, my mom had the wine ready (She’s good!) and my dad, mom, and I drove down to my brother’s house for dinner after we downed our glass. All I knew was that my brother’s girlfriend, Marcia, was making a Greek meal so I was intrigued!

We went through some more wine as we feasted on spinach and artichoke dip (made with fresh artichokes!), Greek lasagna with beef and eggplant, and the most delicious Greek salad. Marcia gave me the salad recipe and I know that it’s going to be on repeat at our house this summer, and that’s saying alot since I don’t duplicate recipes very often! Thanks again, Marcia! It was so yummy (and better than the frozen pizza that Travis and I were going to have if we had stayed home!). 🙂

Saturday morning, mom and I took a walk on our road. The “usual” route that we go is three miles down-and-back. I think walking on our road is the most serene and pretty place to work out. I can’t get enough! We really underestimated how hot it was by 9 a.m. though and were ready to dive into some ice water when we got back.

IMG_3863

It was a quick morning as I got ready to go to my brother-in-law’s graduation party that afternoon.

Note: I thought it was a good idea wearing this top because it was going to in the 80’s, and I thought it was keep me cool. What I didn’t count on was getting a wicked sunburn where my shoulders were exposed. My good idea kind of backfired, and I can hardly touch my shoulders right now.

IMG_3866.JPG

We played cornhole, ate too many sweets, and talked to relatives all afternoon.

Tenley is always up for a photoshoot. She came up to me and said, “Don’t you have Snapchat? Let’s do that.” 🙂

IMG_3876.JPG

IMG_3881.JPG

IMG_3889

After all of the party guests had left, we went inside and played some games before the ceremony.

Tenley always picks “Operation” to play, and the way she plays kills me. Instead of following the directions and realizing that if you “buzz” the guy, your turn is over, she goes at that thing until she gets the piece that she is after, making it “buzz” the whole time. It never phases her, and it always cracks me up. I joked that she was “hurting” the guy, and she just shrugged- ha!

IMG_3892

Before we left for the ceremony, Tenley was laying on my stomach and told me, “Your tummy feels like a pillow. It’s squishy.”

I did a fake gasp at her, and flexed my stomach, telling her to try again.

She laid back down and said, “Nope, still squishy.”

I love how honest kids are (and maybe I need to get back to doing some planks- ha!).

Earlier that afternoon, her brother Bentley had looked at my arms and said, “Why is your arm hair so long? Why don’t you just shave it?”

These kids are taking a shot at my confidence! 😉

Graduation went well (only an hour long- yes!), and we headed back to my parents’ house after it was over.

On Sunday, we went to church and then to lunch at my Grandma Marilyn’s house.

IMG_3910.JPG

Grandma hugged me when we got there and then looked down at my legs and said, “My… honey, are you wearing pantyhose?”

I told her that I wasn’t and she said, “Oh, your legs are just that white.”

Add tanning to my to-do list now after shaving my arms and doing some ab exercises. 🙂

IMG_3908

The weekends always seems to go extra fast when we are back home, and this one was no exception! I’m extra thankful for the special mothers in my life. I got blessed with the best!

Our last day of school is on Friday. It’s always bittersweet ending a school year, and I really have loved this group of kids, but…I’m ready for some pool days drinking margaritas! Bring on summer!

Have a happy Monday!

Question of the Day: What is your favorite summer activity?

 

 

Leave a Reply

