Friday

Five on Friday

We made it!!! Happy Friday!

Today I’m sharing five favorites from this week! Let’s get started!

one. As I mentioned earlier this week, we have my brother-in-law’s high school graduation this weekend, which of course is making me feel all sentimental.

It’s been SEVEN years since I graduated high school, and it scares me how fast time is flying! I feel like I just started college, not that I have been out in the “real world” for two years!

Just for fun, here’s a couple throwbacks to when Travis and I graduated high school. Man, we didn’t know how good we had it then- no worries, and the things that “stressed” us out were so insignificant. 🙂

Also, notice the timestamp on the photos- old school!

L gradge

L ffri gradge

tgradge

two. The posters that my students made from their family interviews turned out SO cute! We had a gallery walk to view everyone’s on Monday and we laughed at some of the bizarre responses on the posters.

One of my students’ grandma remembers shooting her own sister with a bb gun when she was little, which sounds a lot like the main character, Grandma Dowdel in our book, “A Long Way from Chicago” who scares people with her gun too. We joked that she has a “real life” Grandma Dowdel in her life!

This is about a third of the students’ posters hung up in sixth grade hallway!

IMG_3836

three. Warm weather means more salads for dinner. This one was a new recipe (shocker, I know!) from Skinnytaste: Turkey Santa Fe Taco Salad with Avocado Crema, long name for a delicious salad!

IMG_3839

four. Target sucked me in…again.

I went to pick up some snacks for students for our last day of school activities next week. We always have a play day in the morning full of games and by mid-morning they are starving after running around so much.

Of course what was meant to be a short trip just to get the fruit snacks ended up with me spending thirty minutes in the clothing section, trying on a huge stack of clothes, and buying another lamp for our guest room.

Isn’t that how it always goes at that store?!

Target, you’re good…real good.

IMG_3844

five. I saw this online earlier this week, and it couldn’t be more true or hilarious!

I was the last one of my friends to upgrade to a smartphone (I thought it was unnecessary to have Internet on your phone at the time #RockingTheFlipPhone #NowImAddicted) and I vividly remember doing exactly this.

I never clicked so fast as I did after accidentally hitting the Internet button.

IMG_3613

We are headed back home tonight to start off the big graduation weekend! My brother’s girlfriend is home too and apparently she is cooking a big Greek meal for all of us! Travis and I usually just have pizza on Fridays so I am pumped!

Have a great weekend!

Question of the Day: What are you looking forward to doing this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. My kiddos and I found more than three grandparents who married someone that first dated the persons sibling, lol! They thought it was crazy that the story of how they met their spouses ended up that way for like five couples. I hope you have a great weekend. The girls and I headed to Wichita tonight but ended up in Hutchinson due to a tire issue, will head to Wichita in the morning for my best friend’s daughter’s b-day party at the zoo. Then it’s off to KC for my annual Mother’s Day 5K with my mom, sister, Jordyn, and Kennedy. Going to be busy but looking forward to it all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

