Friday · Teaching

Friday Favorites

It’s been another loooong week, and I’m so glad it’s the weekend!

I came home tonight and felt like this:

IMG_1552.JPGAnyways, here’s a few things that made me smile this week!

one. I randomly picked this cleaner up last weekend (at Menards, of course) because I wanted a kitchen cleaner not so harsh feeling as Clorox wipes. I tend to use Clorox wipes for everything, and lately, I just wanted to try something more simple. I absolutely love this one! It makes my kitchen (or bathrooms) smell SO fresh and I love the more natural ingredients in it.

IMG_3766.JPG

two. Another product win for this week is this mask. I saw it advertised in one of my magazines several years ago and could never find it. Then, I was at Target recently and came across it. Who knows- maybe it had been at Target all those years and I was just looking over it? I picked one up for my mother-in-law’s birthday earlier this month as well.

It is the perfect mask; it’s very light, smells delicious, and left my skin feeling so smooth and rejuvenated! I try to do a mask once or twice a week, and this one is going into the weekly rotation!

IMG_3780.JPG

three. This week was like an early birthday for me at school. I had a couple students give me random gifts, one for my birthday (which is later this month) and one just because.

This was a very trying week for me because of some parent drama that went on, but it’s nice to get reminders like this from students that I am making an impact on them. They are the reason I went into this career and I love getting to work with them…most days :).

IMG_3769
Ignore the awful run-on sentence and spelling mistakes. Sixth grade is all about progress, not perfection :).

The student that gave me this basket and note (above) had asked me several weeks ago what I wanted for my birthday. Knowing that she wanted to buy me something, I made it easy and said, “A big Kit-Kat,” which is my biggest weakness.

Needless to say, when I read the note and saw the Kit-Kats inside, it was not too difficult to guess who it was from ;).

IMG_3770.JPG

Later in the week, I received this bath bomb from a student. Maybe I look stressed and she thought I needed to unwind (?). I appreciate the sentiment!

IMG_3781

four. When cooking dinner one night this week, I looked out the windows in our living room to try to see what Travis was doing.

Travis is known for doing some funny things, and this time was no exception.

I found him “fishing” in the backyard to practice with his new rod.

You can’t make this stuff up. He misses being in the country, and was getting ready for a fishing trip with a friend, but…still. I cracked up at the window until he finally saw me…and then he continued to “fish” until dinner was ready.

He sure keeps life amusing!

(Ignore my embarrassingly dirty windows- eek! We ordered all new windows for our house and I have been slacking on my cleaning while we wait for them to come in.)

IMG_3771

IMG_3775

IMG_3778
He finally caught me.

five. I talked yesterday about interviewing my grandma for a school project that my students did this week. Check it out for some entertaining answers from Marilyn about her earlier years.

IMG_3768

We did this project to connect to the novel we just finished, “A Long Way from Chicago” by Richard Peck.

Next week, I’ll be back with more random tidbits from the middle school world, including some of the posters my students made about their grandparents! They’re pretty cute!

Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

